Public Holidays in India in 2019

List of National and regional Public holidays of India in 2019

Day Date Holiday Comments
Tuesday January 01 New Year’s Day Arunachal pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Miizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana
Friday January 11 Missionary Day Mizoram
Saturday January 12 Birthday of Swami Vivekananda West Bengal only
Sunday January 13 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Punjab
Monday January 14 Bhogi Andhra Pradesh, Telangana
Tuesday January 15 Pongal Also known as Makar Sankranti, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Tuesday January 15 Tusu Puja, Magh Bihu/Bhogali Bihu Assam
Tuesday January 15 Sankranti Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Karnataka, Telangana
Wednesday January 16 Thiruvalluvar Day Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu
Thursday January 17 Uzhavar Tirunal Puducherry, Tamil Nadu only
Wednesday January 23 Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal. Birthday of a prominent leader in the Indian freedom movement
Friday January 25 Sir Chhotu Ram Jayanti Haryana only
Friday January 25 Statehood Day Himachal Pradesh only
Saturday January 26 Republic Day
Thursday January 31 Me-dam-me-phi Assam. Ancestor festival
Tuesday February 05 Losar Sikkim only. Tibetan New Year
Tuesday February 05 Sonam Lhochar Sikkim only. Tamang New Year
Sunday February 10 Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal
Friday February 15 Lui-Ngai-Ni Manipur
Tuesday February 19 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra only
Tuesday February 19 Guru Ravidas Birthday Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab only. Full moon of Magh
Wednesday February 20 Mizoram State Day Mizoram
Wednesday February 20 Statehood Day Arunachal Pradesh
Thursday February 28 Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Haryana only
Monday March 04 Maha Shivratri Celebrated on the 13th night/14th day in the Krishna Paksha
Monday March 04 Chapchar Kut Mizoram. Probable date
Wednesday March 20 Hazrat Alis Birthday Uttar Pradesh only. Son in law of Prophet Muhammad
Wednesday March 20 Holika Dahan Uttarakhand
Thursday March 21 Doljatra Holi Dahan
Thursday March 21 Holi
Thursday March 21 Yaosang 2nd day Manipur.
Friday March 22 Bihar Divas Bihar Only
Saturday March 23 Shaheedi Diwas of Bhagat Singh, Rajguru & Sukhdev Haryana only
Saturday March 23 Shahidi Divas S. Bhagat Singh Ji Rajasthan only
Monday April 01 Bank Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Monday April 01 Odisha Day Odisha only. Utkal Divas
Friday April 05 Babu Jagjivan Ram Birthday Andhra Pradesh
Friday April 05 Babu Jagjivan Ram Birthday Telangana only
Saturday April 06 Ugadi Telugu and Kannada New Year. Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh
Saturday April 06 Sajibu Nongmapanba Manipur. 1st day of the Month of Sajibu
Saturday April 06 1st Navratra Jammu and Kashmir only
Saturday April 06 Gudi Padwa Telugu and Kannada New Year. Maharashtra
Sunday April 07 Cheti Chand Gujarat only.
Sunday April 07 Sarhul Jharkhand
Saturday April 13 Biju Festival Tripura only
Saturday April 13 Bohag Bihu Holiday Assam only
Saturday April 13 Ram Navami Several states
Sunday April 14 Ashoka’s Birth Anniversary Bihar only
Sunday April 14 Bengali New Year Tripura, West Bengal only
Sunday April 14 Bohag Bihu Assamese New Year. Arunachal Pradesh, Assam
Sunday April 14 Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Birthday of Bhimrao Ramji Ambedekar
Sunday April 14 Maha Vishuba Sankranti Odisha
Sunday April 14 Tamil New Year Puthandu. Tamil Nadu only
Sunday April 14 Vaisakhi Several states
Sunday April 14 Ram Navami Many states
Monday April 15 Himachal Day Himachal Pradesh only. The province of Himachal Pradesh was created on 15 April 1948
Monday April 15 Vishu Kerala Only. First day of Tulu calendar
Wednesday April 17 Mahavir Jayanti The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Thursday April 18 Maundy Thursday Kerala only
Friday April 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Sunday April 21 Garia Puja Tripura only
Wednesday May 01 Maharashtra Day Maharashtra only. Commemorates the formation of the state of Maharashtra on 1 May 1960
Wednesday May 01 May Day Many states
Tuesday May 07 Basava Jayanthi Karnataka only. The most important festival of the Lingayats. 3rd Vaiskha
Tuesday May 07 Parashurama Jayanti Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh only
Tuesday May 07 Birthday of Rabindra Nath Tagore Tripura, West Bengal
Thursday May 16 State Day Sikkim only
Saturday May 18 Buddha Purnima Several states
Sunday May 19 Buddha Purnima Several states
Friday May 24 Birthday of Kazi Nazrul Islam Tripura only.
Friday May 24 Maharana Pratap Jayanti Haryana, Himachal Pradesh only
Friday May 31 Jumat-ul-Wida Last Friday of Ramadam
Wednesday June 05 Idul Fitr Many states
Thursday June 06 Following Day of Ramazan Telengana
Friday June 07 Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Punjab Only
Friday June 14 Pahili Raja Odisha
Saturday June 15 Raja Sankranti Odisha only
Monday June 17 Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Gazetted holiday in Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab.
Sunday June 23 Kharchi Puja Tripura only
Sunday June 30 Remna Ni Mizoram
Thursday July 04 Ratha Yatra Odisha
Friday July 05 Guru Hargobind Ji’s Birthday Jammu and Kashmir
Saturday July 06 MHIP Day Mizoram
Sunday July 07 Ker Puja Tripura only
Saturday July 13 Martyr’s Day Jammu and Kashmir only
Wednesday July 17 U Tirot Sing Day Meghalaya
Monday July 29 Bonalu
Wednesday July 31 Martyrdom Day of Shaheed Udham Singh Haryana only
Wednesday July 31 Karkkadaka Vavu Kerala
Monday August 12 Idul Juha Bakrid. Many states
Tuesday August 13 Patriot’s Day Manipur
Thursday August 15 Independence Day
Thursday August 15 Raksha Bandhan Several states. Shravana Purnima
Saturday August 17 Parsi New Year Jamshed Navroz. Gujarat, Mumbai Only
Friday August 23 Janmashtami Restricted Holiday. Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Saturday August 24 Sreekrishna Jayanthi Several states
Saturday August 31 Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Punjab only
Sunday September 01 Muharram Observed mainly by the Shia Muslim community
Sunday September 01 Teej Haryana only
Monday September 02 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Tuesday September 03 Nuakhai Odisha only. Day after Ganesh Chaturthi
Tuesday September 10 First Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Tuesday September 10 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Wednesday September 11 Thiruvonam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Thursday September 12 Third Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Friday September 13 Fourth Onam Kerala only. Harvest Festival
Friday September 20 Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Kerala only. Marks the death of a key social reformer
Monday September 23 Haryana’s Heroes’ Martyrdom Day Haryana only
Saturday September 28 Mahalaya Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Saturday September 28 Bathukamma Starting day Nine days before Durgastami
Sunday September 29 Maharaja Agrasen Jayanati Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan only
Wednesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday October 05 Maha Saptami Assam, Odisha, West Bengal
Sunday October 06 Durgastami Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Odisha, Telangana, West Bengal
Sunday October 06 Mahanavami Bihar, Kerala, Odisha only. Ninth Day of Dussehra
Sunday October 06 Navami of Durga Puja Assam, Tripura,West Bengal
Monday October 07 Ayudha Puja Karnataka, Tamil Nadu
Tuesday October 08 Durga Puja Mahastami. Odisha, Sikkim only
Tuesday October 08 Dussehra Dasara/Vijaya Dashami
Sunday October 13 Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Several states
Sunday October 13 Lakshmi Puja Odisha, Tripura, West Bengal only.
Sunday October 27 Deepavali Several states
Sunday October 27 Deewali Many states
Sunday October 27 Kali Puja Assam, Odisha, West Bengal
Sunday October 27 Narak Chaturdashi Karnataka
Monday October 28 Vikram Samvat New Year Gujarat only.
Monday October 28 Vikram Samvat New Year Gujarat only.
Monday October 28 Vishvakarma Day Day after Dewali
Monday October 28 Deewali (Laxmi Puja) Maharashtra
Tuesday October 29 Bhai Bij Gujarat only.
Tuesday October 29 Deewali West Bengal
Tuesday October 29 Balipadyami Karnataka
Wednesday October 30 Ningol Chakkouba Manipur. 2nd day of the lunar month of Hiyanggei
Friday November 01 Haryana Day Haryana only.
Friday November 01 Kannada Rajyothsava Bangalore Only. Karnataka Formation Day
Friday November 01 Kut Manipur
Saturday November 02 Chhath Puja Assam, Bihar, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh
Friday November 08 Wangala Festival Meghalaya. Second week of November.
Sunday November 10 Id-e-Milad
Monday November 11 Guru Nanak Birthday Many states
Tuesday November 12 Rasa Purnima Odisha only
Tuesday November 12 Guru Nanak Birthday Several States
Friday November 15 Kanakadasa Jayanthi Karnataka only
Saturday November 23 Seng Kut Snem Meghalaya
Sunday December 01 Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji Punjab only
Sunday December 01 State Inauguration Day Nagaland
Sunday December 01 Indigenous faith day Arunachal Pradesh
Monday December 02 Asom Divas Assam only
Tuesday December 03 World Disabled Day Tripura only
Thursday December 05 Birthday of Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah Jammu and Kashmir
Thursday December 12 Pa Togan Nengminja Sangma Meghalaya
Wednesday December 18 Death Anniversary of U SoSo Tham Meghalaya
Thursday December 19 Goa Liberation Day Goa only
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states
Thursday December 26 Boxing Day
Thursday December 26 Shaheed Udham Singh’s Birthday Haryana only
Monday December 30 U Kiang Nangbah Meghalaya

Indian New Year’s days

Solar or Lunar calendar Date Festival name Religion / Regions (Hindu)
Lunar varies, Mar/Apr Ugadi Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka
Lunar varies, Mar/Apr Bighu Bihar
Lunar varies, Mar/Apr Pratipada Uttar Pradesh
Lunar varies, Mar/Apr Bikhu Uttarakhand
Lunar varies, Mar/Apr Gudhi Padwa / Samsaar Padwo Maharashtra, Goa, Konkan
Lunar varies, Mar/Apr Cheiraoba[2] Manipur
Lunar varies, Mar/Apr Navreh Kashmir
Lunar varies, Mar/Apr Navratra Jammu
Rajasthan
Lunar varies, Mar/Apr Cheti Chand Sindh
Solar fixed, April 13/14/15 Vaisakhi Punjab
Solar fixed, April 13/14/15 Rongali Bihu Assam
Solar fixed, April 13/14/15 Tamil puthandu Tamil Nadu
Solar fixed, April 13/14/15 Vishu Kerala
Solar fixed, April 13/14/15 Bishuva Sankranti Odisha
Solar fixed, April 13/14/15 Poila Boishakh Bengal
Solar fixed, April 13/14/15 Jud Sheetal Mithila, part of Bihar
Lunar varies, Oct/Nov Nav Varas Gujarat
Solar varies, Aug 17,18,19[3] Nowruz Parsis
Solar Fixed, March 21 Nowruz Zoroastrians

 

  • In Gujarat, the next day of Diwali is celebrated as the first day of the Vikram Samvat calendar which is the first day of the month Kartik.
  • Hindu religious festivals are based on Vikram Samvat. New year in Vikram Samvat starts from the first day of Chaitra Shukla paksha.

Related holidays in other cultures

Aluth Avurudda coincides with the new years in many other Southern Asian calendars, including:

  • Assamese New Year, or Rongali Bihu (India’s Assam state)
  • Bengali New Year, or Pohela Boishakh (Bangladesh and India’s West Bengal state)
  • Burmese New Year, or Thingyan (Burma)
  • Khmer New Year, or Chol Chnam Thmey (Cambodia)
  • Lao New Year, or Songkan / Pi Mai Lao (Laos)
  • Malayali New Year, or Vishu (India’s Kerala state)
  • Odia New Year, or Maha Vishuva Sankranti (India’s Odisha state)
  • Nepali New Year, or Bikram Samwat / Vaishak Ek (Nepal)
  • Vishu (India’s Kerala state)
  • Tamil New Year, or Puthandu (India’s Tamil Nadu state and Sri Lanka Tamil people)
  • Thai New Year, or Songkran (Thailand)
  • Tuluva New Year, or Bisu (India’s Karnataka state)
  • Maithili New Year, or Jude Shital (Mithila)
  • Sinhalese New Year, Aluth Avurudda (Sinhalese: අලුත් අවුරුද්ද) in Sri Lanka – Sinhala New Year